MCM 2013

It’s official because I am announcing this in writing: I am going to run the Marine Corps Marathon in 2013. All 26.2 miles of it. 

I may be crazy, but we all knew that before. MCM 2013 will be the 5th anniversary of the race that inspired me to start running, and my 4th year as a more-or-less legit runner. 

I realize the road to MCM 2013 will not be easy – there will be long runs through the summer months, there will be a lot of stress and strain on my body, there will be time factors that I must meet so I am not picked up by the slow bus, there will be a learning curve for nutrition to keep myself healthy, and there will be incredible psychological strain. 

To these challenges I have answers: I have already been-there-and-done-that for long runs through the hot-and-humid DC summers (my first half marathon was in September). I will stretch, strengthen, and cross train so my body can recover. I haven’t been picked up by a slow bus to date, and I am not going to let it happen during my one and only marathon. I will just have to learn the proper way to keep my body healthy, to consume enough carbs, protein, and vitamins so that my body doesn’t fight me. And for the mental strain, I quote one of my favorite movies – the Little Giants – “Football [ahem Running] is 80% physical and 40% mental.” 

I plan to blog about my training and progress throughout 2013, and hopefully capture some highlights from some of my other races that I plan to complete – Nike Women’s DC Half Marathon; Pittsburgh Half Marathon; Annapolis TriRock Triathlon…and whatever other race that pops up before MCM 2013.

My announcement comes on the eve of MCM 2012, where runners may be racing through a hurricane to complete their goals. I wish all the participants luck, and I plan to be out there cheering them on! Semper Fi!

Image

Miles, the MCM Mascot, in 2011

4 thoughts on “MCM 2013

  1. Lauren so excited for you and can’t wait to read all about your training!! You are such an inspiration to me 🙂 Congratulations on your new goal you are totally amazing!! Love you!

  2. Pingback: She Gone and Done It | The Adventures of LP

Leave a Reply

