Tita-Would-Approve-Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes

Backstory: I hated zucchini and squash growing up. (My views on the summer vegetable have changed since joining WeWa, but as a kid it grossed me out). My grandmother (Tita) would make this delicious chocolate zucchini cake, and I am pretty sure that was the only way I willingly consumed zucchini. I got Tita’s recipe from my mom, and I have made it several times. Since I am trying to be much healthier, having a cup of oil and chocolate chips in the cake seemed a bit much…so I have adapted Tita’s recipe to make it WeWa-friendlier. (Not 100% healthy, but its better than it was before!) To my surprise, it worked! đŸ˜€Â 

Tita-Would-Approve-Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes

Source: Adapted from Tita

Ingredients:

3 c shredded zucchini

1 snack-sized cup of unsweetened applesauce (4 oz)

2 large eggs

1 and 1/2 c sugar

1 tsp vanilla

3 c flour

1 tsp each baking soda and baking powder

1 Tbs cinnamon

1/2 c cocoa powder

1 tsp salt

Sugar free chocolate syrup (to drizzle)

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray cupcake pan with non-stick spray.

Mix zucchini, eggs, sugar, vanilla, and applesauce in one bowl. In a separable bowl combine dry ingredients. Combine wet ingredients and dry ingredients. Mix well.

Pour into cupcake pan. Back 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Let cook. Serve with a drizzle of chocolate sauce, and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

