A Little Help From My Friends

As much as I pretend it isn’t happening, my 30th birthday is creeping up in 8 weeks. I have had my goal to get under 200 pounds since the start of the new year. I am still 9 pounds away. I am going to come clean. For the past six months, I have been failing miserably at reaching my goal.

At one point (shocker, it was close to the triathlon), I was at 205. I have been as high as 212. And I have been every number in between. I am gaining and losing the same weight over and over again without making progress. For a week or two, I am majorly on the bandwagon – I eat well, plan, track what I eat, drink my water, exercise. And then…well, life happens. Maybe I snack on something unhealthy and I don’t write it down, maybe my day royally sucked. Maybe I just don’t want to run – for a week. I fall off the bandwagon and undo all the progress I have made. I then become re-devoted to the mission, vowing this time will be different. And off the bandwagon I go. Climbing on and off the bandwagon sucks! Weight loss is hard work.

This time, I am publishing my goal online and asking my family, friends, and loyal readers to help me reach it. I want to see ONEderland for the first time in almost 2 decades. I want to see life under 200 pounds. Hell, I bought a two piece swimsuit in anticipation of this!

I am asking you – please, hold me accountable. Don’t let me talk myself out of running or swimming or walking or biking. Give me skeptical glares when I order the bacon double cheeseburger instead of a salad. Ask me if I have weighed in this week. If I tracked – every single bite. If I planned my meals. Ask me if I am giving it 110%, because to reach this goal, that is effort I need to make.

I have 8 weeks to reach my goal – who’s on board to help me reach it??

7 thoughts on “A Little Help From My Friends

  1. We both know that 9lbs in 8 weeks is doable. I’ve been struggling lately too. Fully leaped off the wagon a couple weeks before my wedding, and I can’t seem to grab a handle and get back on. Last summer I also did the trick of losing the same 5lbs over and over and over. It is very frustrating. Just remember how well you have done so far. Don’t let the little lapses turn into big ones and you’ll be fine. One trick I used to motivate myself was to say I could buy a new gadget for every 5lbs I lost. Set a $$ limit and make a list of things you really want. Once you reach a goal, buy it, but not until then. It worked for a while, and it might be just enough to get you to your Onederland goal. GOOD LUCK!

  2. I’m a bonafide skinny b****, but your journey inspires me all the time. Whenever I’m working out and I want to stop before I’m supposed to, I think “What would LP do?” And then I keep going. (I have to: being skinny isn’t as easy as it used to be now that I’m 30…luckily being a b**** is easier than ever.) Your dedication and persistence have inspired a lot of people, probably more than you will ever know. You’re gonna reach this goal with time to spare, guaranteed.

Leave a Reply

