The Pluses of Minuses

I haven’t seen a new minus sign on the scale for months and months. In other words, I have been gaining and losing the same 5 pounds for almost a year.  Sometimes, I get frustrated. Sometimes, I get annoyed. Sometimes, I am really motivated to see some minus signs. Sometimes, I say fuck it.

But then I have an every day event which remind me why I began this journey and the minus signs do not seem to matter as much. Like when I realized I can buckle a seatbelt on a plane and sit comfortably for a flight. And when I could share a Metro seat car without squashing the other person. And when I could wrap a normal sized towel around my body without half of my ass sticking out (though, I think I will always prefer the bath sheet).

And when I went to an amusement park and rode every roller coaster I wanted without fear of being too fat to fit into the ride.

This is huge.  Plus sized people can’t fit into a lot of the rides – especially the newer, faster, sleeker roller coasters because they have tight-fitting seats and weight restrictions.   In 2008, the last time I was at an amusement park, I didn’t ride half of the roller coasters because I knew I couldn’t fit into them and I didn’t want to embarrass myself by being turned away.

Years later and almost 100 pounds lighter, I knew without a shadow of a doubt that I would be able to ride all of the coasters….and I did. Victory!

Leave a Reply

