Bucket List

While I was hoofing it at a 27% incline on a treadmill at the gym, I started to think about what would happen if a doctor told me that I had 6 months to live.  Where this thought came from, God only knows.  To the best of my knowledge, I am healthy, fit, and can live forever – or until my card is up.  But for 30 minutes, I thought about what I would do if I were given that news.

I thought, “Huh, I don’t really have a bucket list – maybe I should make one.” So, as I was panting and sweating, I thought about some of the things I wanted to do in my life.  Not surprisingly, a vast majority centered around places I wanted to visit.

First thing’s first, I would quit my job.  I would rather spend my days with friends and family on adventures than working for Uncle Sam.  Ukrainians  would call this an “active rest.”

Then, I wanted to throw a big dinner/dance party – because why not enjoy the good times while you still can?  Maybe I would do it huffli style…with a lamb on a spit. Now, that would be cool. Plus, I want to buy a pair of Louboutins or Jimmy Choos– so a big party would be a good place for me to wear some expensive, fancy shoes.

I want to do a marathon.  Preferably in a race setting so I could get my medal and $300 framed picture and race number, but I guess if no races were convenient – I could take my sweet ass time going 26.2 miles around DC just to say I was a marathoner.  (This brought on a new string of thoughts, like – would I have time to train for a marathon?  Then I remembered a lesson I learned a long time ago, running is all mental. My body would get me the 26.2 miles – it may not be pretty, but physically I could do it. But I would NOT do it with a synthetic green mullet on my head).

Then, of course, I started a list of all the places I wanted to see.

Rome, Italy

Croatia

Ireland (again)

Chicago (again)

Seattle

San Fansisco

Denver

And…that was as far as I got.  Lots of strokes of genius can happen in 30 minutes, but not an all inclusive list.  But I guess the bigger thought is – I need a real life bucket list.  I have lists for everything else (I have so many lists, I have several spreadsheets of them on Google docs), why not a master goal list of things I would like to do before my time is really up. Stay tuned for a real bucket list, because this is only a flavor of my adventures to come!

Do you have a bucket list?

Leave a Reply

