Mom’s Mac and Cheese

Most days I can fight off cravings for General Tso’s chicken, Five Guys burgers, and Besta Pizza. Instead, I will make a healthier version of those classics and convince myself I am satisfied. When the mac and cheese craving strikes, the only thing I can do is give in and get some Velveeta shells and cheese. 

I usually request mom’s mac and cheese when I go home at least once a year, and I have been trying to replicate her recipe for 10 years now. My noodles are too gummy, cheese gets clumpy, or it just doesn’t taste as good as mom’s. Last night was the first night I made mac and cheese that is even in the same league as when mom makes it. Though, if you put the two side by side and I took a blind taste test, I bet mom’s would taste better.

MOM’S MAC AND CHEESE

1/2 lb cooked pasta (I use shells, but macaronni or other pastas work too. Not whole wheat – I am splurging) 

1 onion, chopped

3 tbs butter

3 tbs flour

1 c milk (I used skim to make myself feel better)

2/3 block of Velveeta cheese, chunked

salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Cook pasta. Drain. Saute onion in butter until onion is translucent.

Image

Add flour to butter and onion to make aroux. Add milk to roux and warm (but do not let it boil). Once milk is warm start adding chunks of Velveeta cheese and melting. Stir constantly until all cheese is melted. When the cheese sauce is completely melted and warm, stir in cooked pasta and serve.  

Image

Review: The secret ingredient is the onion. Once I asked mom to make it without onions and I almost didn’t want to eat it because the taste was so different. There is no real review for this recipe as it is my favorite! 

One thought on “Mom’s Mac and Cheese

  1. Dear Rapper LP,
    I tried your recipe today for lunch and I must say it was absolutely delicious. The onions were definitely the secret to a great mac and cheese. I did, however, have to substitute Velveeta cheese with my own combination of gouda, romano, cheddar and a little bit of tex mex red cheddar and mozzarella because Velveeta isn’t available here. And I used soy milk instead of regular/skim milk – lactose. I’m not sure if that still counts as following your recipe but I did everything else you said to do! And I am loving it!!

Leave a Reply

